Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The inside of my plastic hood for my tank holds two T8 tubes in such a manner (from the side) that I can't fit any reflectors inside the hood.

I'm thinking of painting the area around the tubes a reflective white to reflect more light into the tank.

Tank is 120cm by 40 by 45 and believe the tubes are 30 watts each.

Has anyone done this or have any other ideas about how I might increase the amount of light and not lose it going into my tank?

Painting seems a good idea. Obviously want a mould and humidity resistant paint. I think using aluminium foil would be more tricky what with the damp and condensation.

Dom :D

·
Registered
126 Posts
Dom;

I have some experience with light and reflection, having engineered a lighting system for photographic use some years ago. White paint will certainly reflect light better than anything darker, but your statement "increase the amount of light and not lose it going into my tank?" puzzles me a bit...isn't the point of increasing the lighting, to have it "going into the tank", and that's what your earlier statement also says...?

Regarding Alu foil...there are some commercially used duct tapes (not the cloth-based ones, but actual, thick alu foil, which are adhesive backed, which you might be able to line the surface behind T8 tubes, although I don't know how it would hold up in this possibly high humidity environment) which you might check out. This is less of an issue because the Lighting fixture us separated from water by a glass...but be careful not to block T8 ventilation holes with it!