Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone ran their Tropheus tanks with an overflow system?

If so, are you happy/unhappy with it? Reasons?

I've found a 100 gallon tank with an overflow and was thinking of purchasing it and throwing a colony of trophs in it. It's a 4 footer, which isn't ideal but I think it'll be alright for a species only tank.

I have zero experience with overflow systems, so I'm not sure if heading this route is the best idea.

Thanks!

·
Registered
128 Posts
It IS in fact, the best idea. Trophs and sumps are the way to go. Higher o2 levels are the main reason. There's not one thing about a sump that I dislike. Maintenance is a breeze!

·
Registered
50 Posts
swk said:
It IS in fact, the best idea. Trophs and sumps are the way to go. Higher o2 levels are the main reason. There's not one thing about a sump that I dislike. Maintenance is a breeze!
+1 - once you have a wet/dry you'll want them on all of your tanks. Set-up is a little more work with all of the plumbing but once it's up and running all you really need to do is wash off (or replace) the prefilter foam when you do water changes.

Oh, and you'll want to use a durso (or some other method) for your overflow stand pipe to quieten it. Otherwise it will gurgle and sound like a toilet flushing.

·
Registered
18 Posts