Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm new to tropheus but i was wondering if it'd be advisable to have a male only tank or would it be a blood bath just researching before i take the plunge

·
Registered
639 Posts
Males and females look nearly identical so it really would make no difference as far as appearance goes. The most dominant fish will show the best color.

Are you thinking of one male from many different variants ( like an all male hap/peacock) or a colony of 20 males of the same variant? Honestly I don't think either scenario would work well. Tropheus are very territorial and hierarchical. I've never heard of anyone doing it either. Not to mention purchasing all males whether the same or different variants would be a pain. Most are sold as groups either as unsexed juvies or proven adults with a desirable ratio.

I think if you want to get the most fulfillment out of your trophs you should get a colony with a m/f ratio of 1:6 or so. When properly cared for they will bless you with many spawns.

Hope this helps...

·
Registered
3,470 Posts
I kept a colony of 12 sp red tropheus. I vented them and it turns out there were 11 males. The 2 most dom males beat the snot out of everyone else. Most of the fish were kept in one small spot at the top of the tank between the two dom males' territories. I do not advise an all male tropheus group.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ok so keeping all males is a horrid idea i was also thinking about adding some protomelas sp. steveni Taiwans to the mix would this be a bad idea as well?

·
Registered
639 Posts
cichlids rock said:
ok so keeping all males is a horrid idea i was also thinking about adding some protomelas sp. steveni Taiwans to the mix would this be a bad idea as well?