Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been in the marine reef coral aquarist for 15 years. After 3 kids and about 20 different tanks, it's time to settle for something simpler than salt water.

So I couldn't resist when I saw a deal for a 450 gallon 10x3x2high. I love the colorful and active fishes so cichlid is the way to go. It's currently plumbed with a wet dry filter going into a sump with ceramic porous tubes. a Tunze 6015 with controller, a Koralia K4. The return pump (I have 3 and testing them all): eheim 1262, Sicce 1073.040 and Magdrive 12b. All around 950gph spitting out through two 1/2 loc-lines. Black background, black bottom and right side where the wall is also black. Two corner overflows with 1" and herbie drain.

Please excuse all the questions with obvious answer...sorry I'm a noob. A few questions:

1. Do I need sand and rocks or can I keep bare bottom?
2. How much water flow do cichlids need?
3. How many cichlids can I have?
4. Is there an order or preference I should introduce the new fish?
5. What kind of lighting is required?
6. Should I get live or fake plants?

thanks for understanding this novice.

·
Super Moderator
40,523 Posts
Welcome to Cichlid-forum!

What type of cichlids caught your eye? The answers are dependent on the fish you choose to some extent.

If possible we would recommend stocking them all at once, but this assumes you have a tank that is cycled for the full bioload before you add fish.

·
Registered
216 Posts
popper231 said:
I've been in the marine reef coral aquarist for 15 years. After 3 kids and about 20 different tanks, it's time to settle for something simpler than salt water.