Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to african cichlids, not new to cichlids or fish in general.

I have a situation Im not 100% sure how to handle. In the process of stocking my tank, one of the yellow labs I got was pretty sickly looking. I didnt realize this when I got him at the store but when I brought him home I did notice that his fins were shredded up a bit and he just wasnt very active.

Well here is my problem. He vanished about 3 days ago. I thought for sure he was just a goner. Well last night, as I was just watching my tank I caught a glimpse of him. He is looking really bad. He could barely stay vertical. Well I spent a good hour or more trying to get him out...he seemed like he had no energy left, I go to get him, and he darts off...well the problem is this.

He is obviously a sick fish. I would really rather remove him. I have 200lbs of rock in my tank stacked. Its going to be very very difficult for me to get him. My question is, is my only solution to remove rock until I find him...If thats the case its going to be a nightmare.

Im just concerned because all my other fish are doing great, I think he was just doomed from the start. I want to remove him so A: my other fish dont get anything if he has something B: it doesnt spike my water levels C: its just gross and weird to leave a dead fish or soon to be in there.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
40,491 Posts
You should get him out (we often have to remove all the rocks for situations such as this) or treat the whole tank or both.

Is he eating? Any swelling? Thready white/clear poop on him or any fish in the tank?

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nah, it doesnt look like any of that. All other fish seem great. No he isnt eating. I am going to tackle removing him in a bit here. If he's alive Im gonna toss him in my sick tank and see whats up.

·
Super Moderator
40,491 Posts