Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Africans so wanted some good input before purchasing fish. I have an empty 29 gallon cycled for about six months. I rehomed the fish that were in it and now would like to stock for a permanent home. I have raised many Ca cichlids but never Africans. My readings in the tank are ph 7.4,ammonia 0,nitrite 0,nitrates 10ppm. Is there fish I could keep in this setup permanently? I don't have much experience with raising ph and maintaining ph past what comes out the tap. I have two HOBs on the tank,black sand and rocks. Any and all help is appreciated.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
DJRansome said:
How many of these would I be able to house in the 29? I am experimenting with marine buffer in an 10 gallon . I dosed the recommended amount and test ph. Before the buffer it was a 7.4 and after I got 8.4-8.6. I am gonna test it daily for a week to see if I can accommodate Africans with the low ph. The gh is 7 drops and kh is 5 drops. I want this to be right, so any other ideas/options you have to make the water parameters as close as possible please tell.

·
Registered
705 Posts
in my experience fish just like clean stable conditions. if you do choose to alter ph and all that jazz make sure you follow a regiment of some kind. you could also consider a small julie pair and some shellies. its what i did with my 30 long

·
Registered
6,748 Posts
Why not use safe and cheap baking soda each waterchange?
You could just use this calculator.
http://dataguru.org/misc/aquarium/calKH.asp
But yes a stable reading for KH and thus pH is what you want to maintain rather than a fluctuating one at about pH 7.4. That kind of shows your KH is low and a pH crash likely as the filter bacteria use up the little KH you have.

All the best James

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
24Tropheus said:
Why not use safe and cheap baking soda each waterchange?