Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had my small Tang set-up for more than 18 months now.

Capacity: 120 litres
Filtration: Sera Fil Bioactiv 250 +UV
Substrate: Mix of regular sand and crushed coral
Rockwork: Rustic slate (around 20kg)
Plants: Two very small ones and some Canadian pondweed (I'm not good with the names!)
Inhabitants: 5 juvenile Ocellatus Gold, 1 adult Ocellatus Gold, 5 Julidochromis, 13 Dwarf Neon Rainbowfish

I don't yet have hardness or pH test kits but I know that the water in my area is very alkaline and quite hard from the tap.

Maintenance routine: Weekly siphoning of the substrate, water change of about 30 litres which, with all the rockwork displacing the water, I think may be around 30-35% change. I had naively assumed that this was fine. :oops:

I've had test kits for ammonia and nitrite since I set the tank up and cycled it but hadn't tested for nitrates until this week. I'm feeling a bit guilty as the nitrates are far higher than I would expect (or like). So far I have done the following:
Day 1: 30% change
Day 2: 30% change
Day 3: 30% change
Day 4 (today): 60% change

I've just taken another full set of readings and get the following readings. The nitrate doesn't seem to be going down at all...in fact I think this might even be a bit higher than yesterday's, and this is after a 60% change.

Am I going mad or is this still sky high on nitrates? I've tested the water out of the tap and it's zero so something is not right here. I don't think the test kit is inaccurate. I'm not overfeeding and as most of the fish I have are quite small I don't think it's over-stocked (although it is full to capacity).

Any suggestions? :-?

I will continue with the water changes but am a little concerned it will be stressing my fish (although they seem fine). :fish:

·
Registered
48 Posts
Did you measures the water directly from the tap ? if not better check that too.