Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have experience with a "nitrate reactor"? Is it feasible to consider as an adjunct to the usual methods, ie. Water changes, plants, etc??

·
Registered
136 Posts
If you stay on top of your water changes, and especially if you have live plants as well, you don't need anything else.

·
Super Moderator
40,523 Posts
Why the desire for a nitrate reactor?

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
LOL.....I have no desire for a "nitrate reactor". Since I am new to the hobby I'm actually looking for expert advice on whether I SHOULD have a desire for it. Just cursory research on my part seemed that theoretically it may be worthwhile considering its anaerobic claim, limited water flow etc.

·
Super Moderator
4,129 Posts
The emphasis is on 'claim'. In my estimation a nitrate reactor can not work in an aquarium environment, because for the tank you need highly oxygenated water, and for the reactor you would need oxygen free water. That just doesn't go together. In nature, aerobic and anaerobic areas are far apart. That just isn't possible in a tank.

I am looking forward to be proven wrong, but so far no luck!

If you find water changes a chore - I do! - they can be automated. It's easier and more effective than nitrate reactors.

http://www.fmueller.com/home/aquaristic ... wc-system/

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you for the reply! Being a dentist, I can't tell you the number of gadgets, gimmicks, toys, etc. that I have accumulated over the years all claiming revolutionary results. They all fall in the category "if it's too good to be true, it probably is!" The Nitrate Reactor I think falls into this category as well. Water changes for me is quite simple since my sink is just beneath my tank!

·
Registered
449 Posts