Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new to keeping cichlids and I've just bought an aqua oak 4x2x2 tank fully stocked with everything needed (or so I thought) from someone wanting to get rid. I just need some experienced brains to pick.
There's around 50 or 60 Mbuna cichlids in there most of which are around 4-6 inches
I have coral sand substrate (came with the tank)
70kg of ocean rock
My filter is an efx600
My ph is at 8/8.2.
My ammonia is 0.25
My nitrite is 0
my nitrate is I think 40 is this ok?
My temp is 27 c
When I picked up the tank It took over 3 hours to transport home and fill tank all I've done in the past week is try to get the ph right and finally the last couple of days it's stayed at 8.
Sadly I lost 5 fish when bringing them home all of which where smaller than the ones that survived although I did expect this
The Fish have been fine I think because none have died but the past couple of days whenever I approach the tank they scatter and hide. This only happens when I go away then come back an hour or 2 later. They are ok if I stay there.
Should I change the filter media (I've bought the full pack from Maidenhead aquatics) or shall I leave it for now?
Should I do frequent water changes? If so how frequent?
Is there anything I need to buy or anything anyone can recommend me doing?
Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
40,492 Posts
Your nitrates are high...if you just filled the tank how did you get nitrates? Does your tap water have nitrates?

I like less fish in a 48" tank...what species and genders do you have?

50% weekly water changes are usually a good starting place, but if you have nitrates in your tap water, you may need to try something different.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·