Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes, you read that right. I'm a total newbie, stepped right off the bus 1 month ago with a 55 gal Malawi tank. Didn't know you couldn't mix Peacocks/Mnubas (still don't know what all my fish are, after searching and staring at them for days upon days....BUT I learned that 1 is a n. fuscotaeniatus and that he'd eventually need a ~125gal tank). So I placed an ad for a used tank.

Someone replied to my ad that they had a 100 gal. full tank/stand setup for $60. Went to pick up the tank/stand and "full setup". It was not 100 gal, it's a 210 gal. acryllic tank with holes drilled in the bottom, white plastic grates & mesh to cover these holes and a sturdy wooden stand with holes drilled to match. Woohoo! Paid the $60, but there was no way it would fit in my 4Runner. So I paid another $40 for him to deliver it to my house...(an hour and a half drive)...very, very, very nice man!!! (I told him it was worth more, but he just wanted it gone...it had belonged to his recently deceased father.)

Now...I have an incompatible 55 gallon that needs its Peacocks and fusco removed before it self destructs. A gianormous tank (in awesome condition) coming tomorrow morning...and no idea what to do about those 'holes' in the bottom...I know they are for filters, or sumps, or overflows, or pumps, or something along those lines. I also need heaters, lights, etc etc etc. So for now it's going in my garage...I hadn't anticipated anything of this size at this time but for $60 how could I say no??? (I know that sounds like a lot of whining about winning the lottery...I apologize but 4 weeks into actively participating in the hobby it's a LOT to take in!)