Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am brand new to cichlids and would like to set up a tank. I had a little 29 gallon tropical years ago but kind of fell in love with mbunas recently and would like to give this a shot.

I've been torturing myself with species lists but came up with this as a first attempt to meet the following:

1) mostly peaceful (for a cichlid tank)/as easy as possible for first time cichlider
2) sticking with blue/yellow/white (no rusties etc. even though they are adorable, just not right for this one)
3) must include yellow labs because my 4 year old says they are the cutest fishies ever

That said, thoughts on this stocking, if I can find them? I would need to order them all online, the local stores here are not adequate.

Pseudotropheus sp. "Williamsi North" (1/2-4? I read they do ok in smaller groups and don't want to add excess bioload if unnecessary since they are big fishies)
Metriaclima sp. Dolphin (1/4)
Labidochromis caerulus "Lions' Cove yellow" - (1/4)
Labidochromis sp. perlmutt (1/4)
Synodontis lucipinnis 5-6?

Any issues or thoughts? I know there are two labs; I don't plan on keeping/distributing fry (see: synodontis) so I am not worried about interbreeding; the only issue would be if they are too close and the males will see each other as rivals? If so, is there another peaceful-ish yellow/white fish to replace the perlmutts?

Thank you in advance, this site has been very helpful! :popcorn:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Apparently I am a dingbat and can't figure out how to edit posts, but I know the blue lips is not necessarily peaceful and I'm wondering specifically if I could make him work in that group. I really like these big goofy guys, but if he has to go, he can... not sure what to replace him with, but something bigger-ish with personality if possible.

·
Registered
25 Posts