Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am new to cichlids and aquariums. 5 days into having fish.

I am curious to see if I can get a more quantifiable answer to how much to feed my cichlids. I have a 75 gallon tank with 10 2-2.5 inch cichlids. I have the pellet food which indicates to feed how much they can eat in 3 minutes. I have also heard to feed them how much they can eat in 30 seconds. And also to feed them a "pinch"

I would like to see an answer such as 1/2 teaspoon, 1/4 teaspoon or 5 pellets per fish.

I am an accountant/finance guy and like the numbers aspect.

Also what is the best way to get their attention when feeding them?

·
Registered
142 Posts
Unless you soak the pellets in some tank water before feeding them to your fish, they can take a bit longer for the fish to eat than flakes. So "as much as they can eat in 3 minutes" might work for pellets. With flakes, definitely "what they can eat in 30 seconds" is best.

Exact measurements are hard to give. It really depends on the fish you are feeding and how often. Trust me, I like numbers too, sorry :(

As far as how many times a day to feed, I have seen many different opinions, both here and on other parts of the web. General consensus is... there is none. Some will say once a day is enough and let them fast one day a week. Others will say feed them sparingly, 3 times a day to reduce aggression. Still others would say morning and night. Bottom line is, as long as your fish are healthy and eating like the are hungry, then they are OK. If they browse, like they are considering eating or just looking at the food like they aren't starving, you are overfeeding or they are sick.

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
I would start with a level 1/4 teaspoon and adjust. I would not soak pellets. I would definitely use the 30 second rule and 1X daily since your fish are young adults and not fry.