Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I am new to the hobby...well not actually new i have cichlids when i was younger kept them for quite a few years, anyhow i don't think i did things right then and would like to give it another try.

At the end of the summer i am looking to purchase a 90 Gallon Tank.

The main reason for this tank is because i fell in love with the frontosa.

I hope there is someone on this forum that can help me answer the following questions?

What is the best filter to buy? Canister? Brand?

How many fish can i put into a tank of 80-90 Gallons? Keep in mind i do not want to get a bigger tank later on.

Which other species will fit best with the frontosa?

What kind of substrate and how much substrate is needed?

I would like to have species of cichlids that hopefully wouldnt dig up my aquarium too much this is one of the reason i like the frontosa, because its calm and will not terrorize the other fish...this is what someone told me, hopefully that is true

if anyone can help that would be great!

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
juventino79 said:
1) What is the best filter to buy? Canister? Brand?

2) How many fish can i put into a tank of 80-90 Gallons? Keep in mind i do not want to get a bigger tank later on.

3) Which other species will fit best with the frontosa?

4) What kind of substrate and how much substrate is needed?
Welcome back to the hobby. Frontosa/Gibberosa are a beautiful & graceful fish. I'll try to help with some of your questions.

1) I currently have a Fluval FX5 and two Emperor 400s on my 125 gallon tank. The FX5 is an awesome canister and I like the Emps to supplement and provide additional surface agitation. I keep the 2nd Emp 400 as a working spare in case of Emergencies.