Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie & I need a little help with compatibility. I have a 55 gal. tank that I did a fishless cycle on. I royally screwed it up in the beginning but amazingly it cycled in 8 DAYS...needless to say, I was completely blown away! But that should be a different post entirely. I'm so excited to get some fish in there. I'd like a colorful tank but I've noticed with a lot of fish the females are dull looking. So, here's what I'm thinking:

Lamidochromis caeruleus (Lions Cove)
Pseudotropheus Sp. acei (Msuli)
Metraclima Estherae (Red) - If I choose this one, I'd like to try to get the male in the bright powder blue instead of the orange.

or

the top two plus
Metriaclima lombardoi (Kenyi) - which I really like but don't know if it's gonna be too aggressive.

or I'm open to any other suggestions?

Also, can I stock 1 male to 4 females of each, for a total of 15 fish...or is that too many?
And should I stock them all at once? or what is the time frame?

Sorry for so many questions. Thanks for any help you can give me! :-?

·
Registered
69 Posts
As far as metriaclima Have you looked at the msobo. Males have a very cool color pattern and females are bright yellow. One of my favorite cichlids.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Just checked out the msobo...they're really pretty fish. Besides possible crossbreeding, wouldn't there be a problem with how aggressive they are compared to the yellow lab & the sp. acei?

·
Registered
69 Posts