Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, Happy Easter. I've spent the last month, to a few weeks reading and researching this site. Lots and lots of helpful info. I just bought a 125 Galllon tank from a friend with a bunch of accessories, filters, etc., and just started adding the lace rock I bought at my lfs.

I'm new to fishkeeping, but I want to do it right, and follow all guidelines as much as possible. So I try to search and find answers myself before I ask questions.....although I may have many questions later..lol.

I'm using eggcrate below the rocks, and pool filter sand. I want to use mostly rock, and maybe one or two plants. I took some pics at different angles, so any opinions and pointers are much appreciated. I made a list of the cichlids I want to stock with, although I misplaced it..lol. :-?
But, mostly Haps and Peacocks, with a few yellow labs is what I want.

So heres the pics....let me know what you think. Too much rock? Not enough? Not natural looking? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
Looks good, I'd probably add more rock. Are you done adding sand? Need about another inch I'd say. At 72"x18", that's around 70 pounds.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh yes I'm defnitely adding more sand. Its all rinsed and sitting in 2 buckets as we speak. I added that thin layer to get in the small blocks of the eggcrate. I didnt want to add all of the sand until after the rocks were in the position I wanted them. I was waiting for my LFS to get more lace rock in, since I cleaned them out, because I wanted to add a few smaller ones stacked on the bigger ones. I have 3 Emperor 400 filters that I would like to hide behind the rocks a bit.

·
Super Moderator
40,491 Posts
GTZ said:
I'd probably add more rock.
That's so funny, I was going to say take out some rock. If it is mostly haps and peacocks, they like the open swimming area.

·
Registered
4,998 Posts