Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys and gals im just getting started and i have a 55 gallon wich has been running with some goldfish for several weeks and i think im ready for my first lake malawi cichlids... *** done my research and i want to start with some saulosi. my tank is cycled and the water peramiters are all good but i was wondering how much it would cost to buy a male and like 3 females of about 2.5inches. or i might start with some Labidochromis sp. "Perlmutt" [how much is a group of 1 male and 3 females of those gona cost me] i was also thinking of starting them about 1 inch [how much are each of those at about 1'] and i need another species as well.. any sugestions.

·
Super Moderator
40,517 Posts
Take a look at the Reviews section of this website and also www.aquabid.com to get ideas about costs. I know I can't buy those locally and would have to order them from aquabid or an online vendor.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ya the goldies are already gone[ fed to my brothers oscar] :D and my water has a ph of 8.5 with salt in the water to make it harder and ammonia close to 0 since my tank should be fully cycled now.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
Ammonia and nitrite need to be stable at zero. Your nitrate will raise. If you don't have any bioload in the tank (no fish or added ammonia) your nitrifying bacteria will die and you'll have to cycle again.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
well my tanks been empty for 3 days already and i can see theres less bacteria but theres still a decent amount so i was wondering if i could take fish froms my parents comunity tank [6 in pleco,kissing fish molly and mabey a couple big guppys] would this be enough to hold till tues or wed.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
a thought just occured to me... couldent i just keep putting food in the tank so that it could make ammonia for the bacteria to eat.

·