Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not new to fish but I am new to cichlids and specifically mbuna. I've had a Green spotted puffer, a 75 gallon full reef and a 20 gallon with some live plants and a single angle fish. Long story short the angle died last week (10 years old) and my now 3 year old got to pick the new fish. He picked out some yellow lab cichlids all about 1" long, which I found out are one of the more peaceful mbuna species. Right now they are in the angles old 20 gallon tank but I know they will outgrow it so I'm planning an upgrade (hehe I get a new tank cause of my son!)

I'd like to do a free standing "walk around" cube tank, something about 2 - 3 feet on a side and 24" tall, and combine the yellow labs with some acei, for a total of 10 - 15 fish. The plan would be for the tank to be drilled in the center with an overflow down to a sump so all 4 sides would be free of cords and clear views. I'd build up the rock pile around this center overflow along with some smaller piles out near the corners and then add the live plants from the 20 gallon tank I've got now. I designed my 75 gallon reef and would likely replicate most of that design as far as sump etc, so I'm aware of most of the sump/return/noise issues. I also realize that I could likely go shallower then 24" but I've read the at Acei will occupy the upper water column and I may turn this into another reef in the future and the extra height is nice for a reef tank.

After all that I'm finally getting to my question....
I've not found any good examples of mbuna, or any cichlids in "cube" type aquariums, and one article I read went so far as to suggest that a cube was the worst possible shape for keeping cichlids. Does any one have input or experience why this is the case?