Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a 72 gallon bowfront for my birthday. I really want to do an African Cichlid tank. I have lots of experience in planted tanks. Since I have sold all my ADA stuff and now have this bigger tank, I'm looking for something a little easier to take care of.

I plan on running all of my old Eheim classics for water movement and cleaning. I'm going to run two 2215s with their regular media in them and one 2217 with just the Efeimech like I read on the web for just bio filteration. I might even hook up the output of the 2217 to some sort of underground spray system like I've seen on here???? Is this to much water movement? The Eheim classics really don't have that much of a GPH output, plus if I were to redirect the output of the bigger filter to the bottom of the tank with underground sprayers, it should move the water nicely?

Tank dimensions are 48"L x 18"W x 22"H

I'm not going to be setting up the tank until later this year, so I have plenty of time to plan it out. Since I'm in North Texas, we already have liquid rock coming out of the tap :thumb:. I plan on using some sort of crushed coral sand for the substrate and local limestone from the stone yards that are all over around here.

What would be a good stocking for this tank when it comes to Africans? I've read all about the blue/yellow mixes:

Pseudotropheus saulosi

or

Pseudotropheus demasoni
and
Labidochromis caeruleus

What I really like, but I'm not sure if these would all get along well in a 72 gallon would be some of the following:

Aulonocara stuartgranti (Ngara) - a pair or trio
and
Otopharynx lithobates (Zimbawe)
and
Iodotropheus sprengerae
and/or some of the following
Labidochromis caeruleus
Labidochromis textilis
Labidochromis sp.
"Zebra Eastern"