Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am fairly new to keeping African chiclids. I recently got a good deal on a 40 gallon breeder and from what i hear, this is big enough to keep africans. I think I have decided to keep mbunas over peacocks and haps. I need some suggestions on what kinds of mbunas exactly can go with one another and how many I should get(much of the stuff I read is very confusing). I would like to know If I should keep all males, or some males some females. Also, what do I do if they are not sexed in the store. If anybody can help me out on this and has any other info that would be great!
Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
40,501 Posts
It is a small tank for mbuna and your options will be very limited. I would do a small, peaceful single species like Chindongo saulosi. They are ideal for a tank like this for 2 reasons: you can fit more than 99% of other species and you get 2 colors since males have blue bars and females are orange/yellow. Buy 18 unsexed juveniles and rehome males as they mature and/or cause trouble until you end up with 3m:9f.

Don't go by gallons, go by length. The typical 40 breeder is 36" long. You would have many more options with a 48" long tank.

It is called a breeder because is it good for raising fry.

·
Registered
165 Posts
treyjansma said:
I would like to know If I should keep all males, or some males some females.