Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to the aquarium scene. However, I would love to here suggestions on a new tank I'm setting up.

The suggestions I'm looking for are as follows :

1) Type of Cichlids/ Number of cichlids(max/min)
2) Decor
3) Appropriate Equipment Needed

Tanks Specifications
75 gallon
Freshwater

All ideas are appreciated! :thumb:

·
Banned
2,109 Posts
Can you narrow it down some?

Have you decided if the cichlids will come from South America or Africa?

That is a good place to start & then we can narrow it down some more.. You have a lot of options with a 75..

·
Registered
212 Posts
man , go with Tanganyika. Alot more selection. Way awesomer!!!!!!!!!!

SHellies on bottom,. couple rock dwellers. Maybe cyps. yea. I like that.

Dont forget to use sand as substrate. No under ground filter either!!

·
Banned
2,109 Posts
Can't help you with Victoria... If considering mbuna from Malawi, I could give you some ideas...

Can't go wrong with Tanganyika either..

·
Registered
152 Posts
Is your tapwater soft or hard? If soft then look at south american or west African. If hard then rift valley Malawi / tang. It will just make looking after your stock that much easier when it comes to water changes. You can alter the chemistry of your tapwater with additives or RO units but it gets more expensive then.

·
Registered
656 Posts
I don't understand why everyone seems to be steering him away from vics. Have you looked at vics lately? There's some very cool fish available, and they make great breeding hosts for syno's as well.

·
Banned
2,109 Posts
I don't understand why everyone seems to be steering him away from vics. Have you looked at vics lately? There's some very cool fish available, and they make great breeding hosts for syno's as well.
I wasn't.

·
Registered
623 Posts