Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am setting up a new 135 gallon discus tank. Since I am a newbie, I obviously want good filtration, but I also want a quiet tank. I have several questions under each option and will number them in the hopes that people will be nice enough to respond.

Sump - I would plan to use an Ecotech Vectra M1 which has a stated GPH flow of 2000 (probably somewhat less in operation). I know discus (they are cichlids) don't like a lot of flow but I would assume that there is a tradeoff in the effectiveness of the sump with lower flow rates.

1. What is the recommended gph/turnover rate that I should not exceed.
2. What model of Sump would be recommended? I am a terrible DIY guy, but the premade sumps mostly seem to be made for saltwater. I have looked at the Seamless Sump by Custom Aquariums but it is expensive and I'm not sure it holds enough media.
3. What is the best overflow method. I have a bottom drilled tank now with an internal overflow box and it is noisy. Are there recommended alternatives?

Canisters - I would use two canisters and was thinking of the Eheim Pro+ 600 which has a GPH of 312. I have one of these now and it is very quiet. I know Fluval FX6 is well liked, but seems to be louder.

4. Would the Flow from the 2 Eheims be about right?
5. On one of the canister outflow lines, I would install an in-line heater - either the Hydor of the ISTA - any recommendations?
6. On the other canister, I was thinking of installing an in-line UV filter. Do I need this and if so, any recommendations?

Thanks for your help!!

·
Super Moderator
40,492 Posts
Shoot for GPH of 8X to 10X hourly.

I have owned both Eheim and Rena Filstar XP series filters. Equally quiet and the XP's are MUCH easier to clean. No disconnecting hoses. Also much less expensive. 10 years and I have yet to replace an impeller.

I see no purpose for a UV filter. I have Hydor heaters in both filter lines.

·