Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm new to the hobby, and I've decided to go with African cichlids. I have a 55 gallon show tank that I was given by a friend, and it came with a Fluval 305 canister filter.

So far, I have built my own stand for it. I used 3/4" birch plywood for the entire thing, and it came out quite nicely. I'll post some pictures when I get a chance.

I also just finished building a 3D background out of 1" and 2" sheets of styrofoam and mortar mix. It came out great! When I get home tonight, I'm going to start cycling the water to leach any chemicals out of the mortar mix.

The tank also has an undergravel jet system that I built using 1/2" pvc tubing and a Rio 2100 submersible pump. I have 4 "jets".

My plan is to have a 10 gallon sump under the main tank inside my tank stand. I was going to purchase another pump, but then I got to thinking... Why not take the pump that currently is hooked up to my undergravel jet system, put that in my sump, and pump the water from the sump through the undergravel jets?? Does anyone see a problem with this? I've already done the math using the calculator, and with the head loss I should still be pushing about 350 GPH, which I think should be just fine. Keep in mind, I'll still be using the Fluval 305 for completely seperate mechanical filtration.

Thanks in advance!! I look forward to my future cichlid family!

·
Banned
2,109 Posts
The only issue I see with the design is the siphon potential....

If the return pump is below the tank & if their is a power outage, their is the potential for your return pump to act as a siphon & empty your tank.

You would have to depend on a siphon break & a check valve in the event of an outage. Both are not fool proof & will fail eventually.