Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there!

I am a new hobbyist, and would appreciate any info about my new tank setup!

I started a new 20L freshwater tank, with a new Aquaclear 30. I am using medium gravel, with some danios and tetras.

My town tap water has been touted as "good for aquariums" by the LFS. pH is 7.4 for fresh tap water.

On day 5 after setup, I checked pH is at 8.2! NH3 is 0.25ppm. NO2 is 0ppm. I use the LFS API kit. I have no clue how to test for water hardness.

It is now day 7, results are still the same.

I am trying to figure out why the pH rose after tank setup. Could this be from NH3 production by fish?

Can the biomax in the aquaclear causing the rise in pH? The gravel is from petsmart, hence, should be inert.

I am planning to keep specific wild caught striped kribensis that prefer ph 6.5 to 7.0. So I am a little perplexed.

Is an increase in pH a phenomenon seen in new tank cycles?

The reason I ask is so that I use different water in future (even buy from store.... :eek: )

Also when is best time to place live plants?

Thanks in advance!

Lisa

·
Registered
10,006 Posts
Sometimes the tap water pH changes after it sits for 24 hours. Has to do with stuff gassing off, I believe. Try testing some tap after leaving it sit for a day. Check the KH also, see next.

Check the KH of the tap water and tank water. You can get a KH/GH API test kit. If something is increasing carbonate hardness in your tank (KH), then it could also be raising pH. But, there's nothing there on your list that would do that. What type of gravel, and is there anything else in the way of decor that's not on your list? What's in the Aquaclear?

Cycling doesn't raise pH.

Add plants now, but be sure to use a product like Prime or Ammolock that binds up ammonia into ammonium. The plants will take up ammonium, not ammonia, and it's non-toxic to both plants and fish.