Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Firstly I'd like to say hello to everyone as I'm a newbie, so be gentle! Hellooooo! :)

Here goes....
I have purchased a 330litre tank of which I plan to keep mbuna cichlids in. Now I have an Aquamanta EFX600 external filter, Fluval U4 internal filter, white sand substrate and plenty of rock but also open swimming space. I filled her with water last weekend, primed filter and switched everything on and its been 9 days since being up and running. Once water temp was up to approx 24c, I introduced 2 plecos and a balla silver shark to help with the cycling process.
Today, I took a water sample to my LFS to have tested to see how things are going, as I wanted to get a 2nd opinion compared to my basic test kit, and the guy said my nitrites are high, about 0.6ppm, ammonia was near enough 0, pH around 8-8.5 and nitrate was ok too. Now he suggested that I perform a 25% water change every 2 days, then get it checked again next week. Now, I may have this wrong, but would I need to leave the water as it is, or is he right? He also says, the plecos could be affecting this cycle, as they are messy eaters.

What do you guys think. Should I leave nature to take its course for another week (or more)? Or do I take his advice, and do the water changes?

Thanks in advance! :fish:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks PfunMo, an interesting read and easy to understand. I'm guessing that as my filters are new and bacteria still has to colonise, the nitrite and nitrate levels are gonna peak higher to start with. I might see what differences there are (if any) at the weekend, and if no change or raised levels then I might do that 25% water change and see how things go from there.
It also seems to me that fishless cycling is a better way??

·
Registered
10,006 Posts