Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im still having some problems with my cichlid peacock tank! As I have stated before, I began 5-6 mos ago with the plan to start an all male collection of a variety of peacocks! For the first few mos all went well until we found out one was female, so we took her and donated her to the LFS, they assured me the rest were all male. One week later, the night before last actually, I had a suspision that one was a female and holding. Since Im new to African Cichlids was not sure, but just in case went out and bought a breeding net to hang on inside of tank. Caught mom, which turned into a huge ordeal, having to remove most of the rocks and landscaping. As soon as we got her in the net she spit out 20-30 babies. They very well could be mixed, but we wanted to learn how this process works and how they grow, so we released mom in the tank and have babies in breeding tank. I know I did not get any positive remarks from this but honestly I am learning alot with them and I certainly dont plan on selling them or try to get them registered with the most fabulous fish society, its just been a good learning experience. My question is, the LFS guy told me after looking at my photos of the tank, that I had actually too many rock structures and too many hiding places, that it would cause them to be too teritorial. He said to move the rocks and such to the back of the tank so they could not swim or chace each other through"territories" Now that I have done that the fish dont seem as happy or social and some of them I havnt seen in days which is unusual. What are you thoughts on the subject? for once I would really appreciate a positive response, it would really boost my confidence level up a notch, as so far it seems I have done nothing right in your opinions and it gets discouraging!!! I just really love fishkeeping and value your opinions, but between the forum and internet, LFS etc. I feel it