Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! I am not a newbie to fishkeeping, although I have taken a rather lengthy break. I have recently decided to begin again and I have a few questions. In every other aquarium I have had, running it for a few days and dropping fish food in has been good enough to consider it "cycled". However I have recently gotten a 55 gallon and ran it for about 2 weeks, then added a few fish, and within hours they all died! After that I did 2x a day water changes and recently added 3 tiger barbs, a pictus catfish, a red tail shark, and a convict cichlid. Needless to say everything has died EXCEPT for the convict. Actually, the convict looks as though he's doing alright, and actually relishes in 55 gallons all by himself!

Is it necessary to still have an air stone even if I have a filter that hangs and pours water like a waterfall. I would think that's enough water agitation. I do have a small airstone anyway, as it's mostly cosmetic.

Though all the fish deaths, I thought I had new tank syndrome, so I bought tetra Safe Start, which says it prevents NTS, and allows immediate placement of fish. Are convicts just really hardy fish, and eventually he will succumb to this?

·
Registered
243 Posts
whenever i have cycled a tank i have left it for three weeks and water changed once a week. Doing it twice a day just recreates a new tank each time. When you add fish then water change twice a week for four weeks then begin a normal routine. However, if the fish died within hours id say your problem is not nts but something else. Have you tested the water. What are the parameters as everyone will ask that? Do you have any plants etc. And have you added any hardy fish to create an eco system. Danios are great for this. Hope *** helped.

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Adrian101 said: