Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi There,

I recently moved so it's a great time to setup a new Aquarium. The aquarium is approximately 400+ liters + a sump of 100+ liters so a total volume of around 550 liters (145 gal). I've got some experience with the common fish in the hobby but this is the first time I want to set up an African Cichlid aquarium. I'm interested in the Mbuna's and did some research in their behaviour and living environments. But research kan only bring you so far. I've already stacked some rock (200kg) in the aquarium with lots of caves and hiding area for the fish.

I already picked some fish I would like to keep and from what I've learned they should be compatible with each other (I know it depends from fish to fish so observation will tell eventually), am I right?
- Cynotilapia Afra Jalo or Cynotilapia Afra Gallireya Reef (Preferred but more expensive)
- Pseudotropheus Flavus
- Melanochromis sp Maingano Cyaneorhabdos
- Labidochromis Chisumulae
- Synodontis Multipunctatu - Birth control

I would like to know what the best ratio (m/f) is for these fish, I've read mixed comments about this varying from 1m/2f to 1m/4f. Also I would like to know if it's possible to keep multiple males of each species. I can order the fish directly from the supplier and I'm not sure in what quantities I should buy them. I could ask for the right male to female ratio if they can be sexed but I'm not sure at what size they can? At first I was thinking to just buy 10 of each to be sure I ended up with te correct ratio ( after DOA's etc).

I was told that the Synodontis Multipunctatu would help with birth control but how far will this go? Will this eliminate all possible breeding activity or will this just prevent the majority and let some fish breed? How often do Mbuna breed actually?