Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm new to the whole cichlid thing. I've owned a few saltwater tanks and that was a pain. I've decided to setup anew tank for cichlids and could use advice on equipment and what filter to buy. I've just purchased a 60g tank and stand. Haven't bought anything else yet as I'm going to set the tank up in a few days and get going. Any advice on what kind of sand and rock to use and what brand filter. I would like to have around 8-10 fish total and planning on going with African species and keep them in the size range of 4". Any help would be appreciated, and yes I'm a noob and don't really understand these fish to much yet.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
Pool filter sand is a cheap option, that looks nice. You can find it at pool supply stores like Leslie's. Cheap rocks can be found at landscape supply places. Filtration depends on what you want, the aquaclear hang on backs are good, I've had a Rena/api filstar canister running for probably 12 trouble free years. Try to get filters that have a gph rating 8x-10x your tanks volume, 60 gallon=480-600gph.

Also read up on the nitrogen cycle before you get started, it saves alot of headache in the long run.

·
Registered
251 Posts
All good advice by James.

That size tank and the size and # of fish I would recommend saulosi. 3m/9f would be just over your numbers but should work out great and give you 2 colors (blue and yellow)

·
Registered
380 Posts
Most people will always suggest the 8 to 10 times turnover rate. It's become gospel on this site.