Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm relatively new to cichlid keeping. I've had my 40 gallon setup for roughly 6 months and it's been rough. I initially started with 4, one died probably an hour after hitting the water but I would say that was more on the pet shop selling me a sick fish or my selection of a fish that seemed "chill". I have a sunsun canister filter, 2 wave malers, and do water changes about every week or so (usually). Of the original fish that I bought, only 3 remain, I just lost another last night that has always been healthy and active. I'm not sure what happened exactly but I came home to find him listless and tattered and very grey/Silver. He was normally a dark blue. I've had this happen to a newer fish that I had gotten maybe 2 months ago that I assumed was from being bullied by my tank boss, a blue peacock. I've got alot going on right now, though. I've started a tiny 5 gal quarantine tank from an old betta we used to have in order to save a yellow lab that was bullied and had some fin damage and another small OB peacock that also got beat up.

So I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed with whats going on lately. I'm tired of losing fish, the tank boss probably has to go but I was wondering if maybe there is something else I can do.

I checked my water last night when I saw the one that was very sick.

Ph 7.8
Ammonia 25
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 80
80 degrees

I purchased 3 more from a different petshop about 2 weeks ago that are slightly younger/smaller than the main tank and sure enough, they started getting beat up. These fish are beautiful and fun to watch but man losing fish is frustmakers,

Appreciate any help I can get, thanks.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Hello and welcome,

What size is your filter?
Did you do a cycle of some sort before adding fish?
Please verify those results. Particularly the ammonia.

Regards,
Stu

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·