Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I've been keeping cichlid aquariums for close to 20 years, but my setup has been mostly on auto-pilot the last few years. I'm about to revamp my 125gal, but I'm afraid I'm a little bit out of the know on what gear is best these days. I don't need the very best...just want something reliable. I typically run an underground filter with a powerhead at each end of my 6.5' tank.....what are some of the better brands? How much power is recommended for an aquarium this size? I also need to consider new hoods and lights. Any advice appreciated.

By the way....in case it matters, I keep mostly S. American cichlids, occassionally adding a few Africans.

·
Super Moderator
4,129 Posts
Welcome to CF, and welcome back to the hobby. I won't say under gravel filters can't be made to work - you obviously kept you fish alive with them for 20 years, and so have many other people. But to be frank, I found the concept flawed when I started in the hobby in 1977. You will have a hard time finding anybody these days who recommends using that type of filter - unless they are trying to sell one, of course :lol:

For a tank that size, I would recommend a good canister filter. I am using an Eheim 2260 on my 125G, and couldn't be happier - no frills, but a huge media volume, super quiet, and built like a tank. If money is tight, even a couple of large sponge filters in my opinion would do a better job than an under gravel filter.

Not sure if you are into DIY, but I built a canopy for my 125G, and the lighting is described here.

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
fmueller said:
You will have a hard time finding anybody these days who recommends using that type of filter - unless they are trying to sell one, of course :lol: .