Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

A little background first. I am a complete newbie to Africans. I have kept salt water and fresh water tanks constantly for over 35 years, though it's been 20 or so years since I maintained a saltwater tank.

I'm just finishing converting my community, then large Oscar freshwater tank, to an African Cichlid tank. The tank is a 35 year old 125 gallon.

What I have done so far:
Removed 150 lbs. of gravel and replaced it with a mixture of 40 lbs of crushed coral, 30 lbs. Argonite fine sand, 80 lbs of CaribSea "live sand".
Rinsed all filter media in the two Marineland Emperor 400 Biowheel filters. (I did not clean the biowheels)
Added two 4" air stones
I filled and drained the tank at least 6 times to reduce the excessive clouding from the Argonite.
Added decorative rocks and artificial plants.

The tank looks good but I feel like I probably made a mistake in getting it so clean. It's been setup and running for 2 days and is finally clearing up. The Live sand came with an additive than was supposed to speed up the clearing process.

Please feel free to rate and advise on the setup. I guess my first question is how long do I wait and what should I be doing to be able to add a few starter fish?

Resized_20190530_230219_6651.jpeg

Resized_20190531_232718_2674.jpeg

Resized_20190601_131046_9866.jpeg

·
Super Moderator
40,495 Posts
Welcome to Cichlid-forum!

Cycle the tank with ammonia before adding fish. Or if you think the live sand did the job, test it with ammonia first.

Ideally you will add all the africans at once so no one has the competitive advantage...avoid the need to quarantine new additions, etc. What kind of Africans were you thinking. Looking at the décor, maybe Tanganyikans?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks!

Did you mean test it for ammonia?