Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought I would do a piece on setting up my new tank, which has been a labour of love so far.

I've been keeping Cichlids for the past 6 or 7 years now, but always had mbuna in a 200L tank. Recently I had a leak from a canister filter (slight nick in an o ring) which resulted in water damage to the stand. I don't trust it now, due to the damage, so decided to replace it.

Instead of another tank stand, I found a large (1.6 metre long) oak sideboard for sale locally, second hand. Just after that, I ordered a custom built tank from a local company that would sit nicely on it, complete with opti white front and glass panes for the lid. Delivery of the tank took months as COVID did what it does best and disrupted the business. Eventually though, it arrived over three months later.

C64E2FA5-C923-49F8-9505-104F74DDFF3F.jpeg

I then got some nice strong wood and set about strengthening the sideboard. I effectively created a new frame for it to sit on to bear most of the weight being pushed downward, as well as adding some vertical strengthening inside it.

E01749AF-ECC0-4E25-85CA-2C92630DB618.jpeg

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
After that, I ordered some 3D background sheets to put at the rear of the tank. I got what I considered a bargain on eBay, four sheets (more than enough) for around £40.

I used the sheets to create a column either end to hide the filter inlet pipes etc.

573EEF2A-BCC9-4637-9483-5D24A1F4F086.jpeg

Then I fitted them all to the back of the tank and added sand substrate.

3DE4DB5E-A56E-4ADE-A1E2-CAA1E716824E.jpeg

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It was then time to add the rest. At the moment, I have reused the rocks from the old tank, but may swap them out at some point. I've fitted my Eheim Ecco canister filter to the tank, swapping it from the old one.