Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am setting up a new 36 gallon bow front aquarium 30x15x21. I have a rena xp3 canister filter, T5 lighting, cichlid substrate, and Reverse osmosis water. I have done cichlid tanks before so i have some experience but not a whole lot. I have been doing a lot of research lately on there diets and just general health so i feel i am ready for a challenging species if necessary. I am not worried about how much time and effort would need to go in to taking care of them I am fine with weekly or even biweekly water changes. The aquarium will be in my living room so i want something that will be very eye catching and preferably a lot of smaller fish than just 1 or 2 large. I have yet to buy any decorations so i can get anything money is not a big issue. What are some good species and how many for this aquarium i would like a species specific tank or just two species. I don't mind ordering on line.

Thanks for all the input

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Here's the cookie cutter for your tank's footprint: http://www.cichlid-forum.com/articles/c ... er_29g.php

If you're looking for a community set up I would suggest going with South American cichlids (some may suggest Central American but I know nothing about them.)

At one time I had four Bolivian Rams: http://www.cichlid-forum.com/profiles/s ... php?id=420
with a bristlenose pleco, 5 cories and 13 rummynose tetras in my 29 gallon. A very colourful tank with a lot of movement and no aggression. If you want to keep it simpler you could skip the cories, but a BN pleco is nice for keeping algae in check.

Rams prefer sand, (and I think it looks better!) plants and some rocks & wood - there are a lot of ways to go in decorating.

Food for thought.

Good luck!

kevin

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·