Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to cichlids, but I have 2 salt water tanks (5 yr old 12 gal and a 2 yr old. 6 gal) I also have had a 100 gal fish pond for the past 10 years. I have inherited a 33 gal long which I will be making into a cichlid tank with the Lake Malawi fish.

Right now I have a fine natural looking aquarium gravel. I am thinking of switching to the cichlid sand that looks like a black and white mix.

The PH that comes from my tap is 7.8. So I don't know if I should go for a stone that will help raise that or not. I was just reading about using rocks from your yard and I do have some nice looking stones around here. So I'm not quite set on my stone work yet.

I have a list of fish I am going to bring to my LFS and see what he can order from it:
1.cynotilapia afra (lumbila)
2. metriaclima estherae (red)
3. labidochromis caeruleus (lion's cove I)
4. cynotilapia afra (cobue)

I have read that the best ration is 1 male to 3 females, but I don't want to add them all at once, so I'm having a tricky time figuring the best way to do this.

Anyway, hello, and any advice would be great.

Oh yea and food, they are all omnivores, any suggestion for diet woud be great. :)

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
33gal long won't be suitable for the RZs, really. The labs will be okay in it. Afras might - never kept them.

How would you rather add the fish? 1 at a time?

·
Registered
31,206 Posts
This is a four foot long tank?

If so, I would go with the Labidochromis caeruleus and the afra Cobue, 1 male 3-4 females of each, plenty of rocks.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Personally, I would be willing to try 2, 3, & 4 together. Otherwise, what Fogel said, 3 & 4.

I would say your tap pH is fine. You may want to add some baking soda to raise the KH.

Hmm.. what's the females of the Cobue look like?

·
Registered
554 Posts
welcome :)

+1 on labidochromis caeruleus and cobue.