Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I just set up a 75g tank and have it cycling. Currently nothing in the tank but a couple anubias nana and java fern. Caves are setup from granite pieces and I have two main cave 'complexes' one on each end of the tank. Middle area is somewhat open with pieces of granite pointing up vertically to provide a bit of a visual barrier between the two ends.

It's been about 10 years since I've had a cichlid tank and while I'm not a complete newb I'm not sure where to go with this. My goals look something like this:
1. Colorful mix of at least two species, up to three max.
2. One synodontis cat.
3. I'd like the possibility of breeding but don't want a bunch of mass murder going on by nasty cranky males/pairs.
Off the cuff my inclination would be to start with a group of leleupei, julies, and cyprichromis.

Thoughts please? Thanks in advance.

·
Administrator
41,873 Posts
Leleupi are colorful but nasty so I would skip those. What about shellies?

·
Registered
755 Posts
Given point #3, the N. leleupi are just too aggressive for your aims. That said, one Julidochromis species plus a nice school of Cyprichromis should work just fine. If you chose one of the smaller Julies, like J. ornatus or J. transcriptus, you could also add a shell dweller. I'd avoid L. ocellatus, as they can get pretty aggressive, but other than that pretty much any shellie would work. I'd go with N. brevis myself, but that's just personal preference. Another nice option in lieu of the shellies would be N. caudopunctatus. Good luck! (y)

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the ideas! I do like shell dwellers but am looking for a bit more color if I can get away with it.