Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All!
I am new to this forum and this is my first time posting.
I have been reading a lot of good info from this forum and thats why I decided to join.
I currently have a 75g with a older xp2 canister filter. I only have a few small community fish in there currently. It's a pretty uneventful and boring setup. The substrate is a layer of
Eco-complete with a layer of larger river rocks type gravel over top.
I am wanting to convert to a male peacock tank. I'm hoping this would make for a MUCH more desirable tank to look at. With all that being said I have a few questions and areas i need some advice.
1. My substrate. I'm thinking I will need to replace my current setup as the larger gravel and the Eco complete underneath would make it hard from them to move through it as well as a mess when/if they get down into the Eco complete. Suggestions on type?
2. Filter. My current xp2 is working fine. I know I need more filtration so I was thinkimg of buying another xp2 or xpm I think that's what there called now. Do you guys think that would be enough? Also would you recommend putting same media setup in both? I don't really want a hob, but if it's highly recommend I would go that way.
3. Power heads? Is yes what locations are best, top of water making waves or down low helping with debris settlement or both?
Thanks in advance for everyone comments and advice. I will definitely have more question when I get pass this 1st stage of setup. If I'm messing something please let me know.

·
Super Moderator
40,494 Posts
Welcome to Cichlid-forum!

The ideal substrate for Africans is pool filter sand.

You want your GPH (gallons per hour) to total 8X to 10X hourly. I would add another XP filter...check the GPH of your current filter and buy the size XP you would need to get at least 8X total.