Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
First I want to say hello to everyone. I am new to the hobby but did fair amount of learning before this first post. This site is my best friend off work in the past month and the library articles helped me a lot.
I believe my 55 gallon tank is ready for the fish. Since I use fishless cycling, I am planning to stock the full tank all at once. I sort of decided to go with a Tang community tank. I will buy fish online since LFS carry Malawi species only. I will buy juvenile fish since it'll be more fun for me and my 3-year old (that's where things get started :)) and it's also a lot easier on the budget...

This is what I am thinking so far:

- Cyprichromis Leptosoma Jumbo Livua "Blue Orchid" (12)
- Altolamprologus calvus Chaitika "White" (a pair)
- Neolamprologus leleupi (a pair)
- Julidochromis marlieri (a pair)
- Ancistrus sp. Bristlenose Pleco red marble (two)

Here we go the questions. Any thoughts or comments are greatly appreciated:

1. Could I buy 3 or 4 fish per group and still have a good chance to get a compatible pair when they grow up? I know many articles / posts suggest 6. But I just don't know how to deal with so many extra fish after they pair off. My LFS is likely not going to take it (they don't carry any tangs). If 3 or 4 fish per group is fine, I can easily start a new 30 gal to house the small number of extras. But it'll be too many to deal with if I start with 6 per group.

2. Other than the Cyps, I picked three pairs. Is that too many? I know the cookie cutter article says only two pairs. If there is definitely too many when they grow up, I can drop the Julies since they are the most aggressive group and they are ominivorous (all others are carnivorous).