Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a 125 that is drilled for a sump. The difficulty with that is, I've never used a sump filter before. The places where it's drilled, are about 1 inch diameter, and just below the high water level. (I've seen some tanks drilled in some pretty weird places.)
The guy was kind enough to give me the sump pump (it needs repaired) which is rated for 950 gph. I've gotta get at least a 29g tank to place in the stand to contain the sump filter. He also gave me the pre-filter & bio-balls assembly to place in the 29g. But I'm thinking of "scrapping" the whole sump idea.

So, here's the dillema.
Currently, I have a 72g bow-front. For filtration on that, I'm running an Emperor 400, 2 rotating powerheads (270 GPH each) with sponge filters. Currently, I do water changes of 20 gallons every 14 days.
It's basically silent, and that's my goal.

Also, in storage (aka the garage) I have another Emperor 400, and an older Emperor 280. And an old UGF (ewwww).

So, how loud is the sump filter going to be? What can I accomplish with what I've got?
Suggestions? I'm willing to purchase something, too. GPASI auction tomorrow. Should I sell some of this & get something totally different.

Quiet is Key, as the 125 will be replacing the 72g bowfront in the living room.

One last thing.... I have an Acura 1000 - 300w heater in my 72. Will that work for the 125?

Thanks, and sorry so long winded.

·
Registered
26 Posts