Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i recently got a 10"-12" oscar from the lfs he wont eat he just lets the food go past him he acts like he is interested and then he changes his mind. do u think i should try somme other foods with him. i am going to try to find out what the store fed him and try that out. what is a good way to introduce new foods to fish.

thanks in advance

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
How long have you had him? I'm no Oscar expert but most newly homed fish can take a few days to settle in before they start eating again.

·
Registered
373 Posts
I guess it could just be picky. If you are feeding it something different than what the last owner did, it may not like it. Ask the last owner!

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
well i know he is hungry because i caught him eating my last sd. i hope i can get him to start eating soon because it is so stressful having a fish that wont eat what u feed them

·
Registered
18 Posts
cichlid_kid96 said:
well i know he is hungry because i caught him eating my last sd. i hope i can get him to start eating soon because it is so stressful having a fish that wont eat what u feed them
dont worry. as soon as he/she feels settled they will eat. oscars can be very picky and may only eat when you are not looking. i have 4 all together, 2 are great eaters and are very social with me. the other 2, drama queens! i walk up to the tank they lay on the bottom and the never eat when i am looking. i would give it a few more days and maybe try giving a treat like blood worms. :thumb:

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·