Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My plan was to turn my 4'x13"x12" tank into a saulosi tank. I've been planning this for about a month, getting everything ready, water just right etc.

The reason I chose saulosi was because in one species that only got 4" I got bright colors with both the male and female. Plus I'm new to cichlids (not fish, I have a 6 gal and 12 gal salt water tank) and wanted to play it safe. I was going to do 2 males and 8 females.

So when I called the supplier, we started talking and he told me I could mix it up and put several other kinds of fish like red zebras, labs, and others I can't remember. He didn't want to change my mind, but if I wanted I could have several different colors and make it real pretty. He said he could help me pick some out and that I wanted about 15-20 fish to deal with aggression.

Sounds good, but I don't know. I don't want to bite off more than I can chew. I also don't know if he's trying to sell me more fish or what.

Any ideas, suggestions?

·
Registered
31,206 Posts
The tank would be ok with Labs, but Red Zebras would be too aggressive.... can't comment on the others, given you can't recall what they are, but there are few mbuna I would consider putting in a tank of this size.

Your Ps. saulosi idea was a good one from the beginning.

·
Premium Member
3,013 Posts
The saulosi species tank is a tried and true solution for a smaller-end mbuna tank. It would also be a great introductory tank to mbuna. And you really can't beat the color combination for a single species. There are some other species that would be a lot more risky in this tank size - maybe someone has gotten it to work, but not everyone.

If he recommended any species from the Melanochromis genus - I'd bet that he's not looking out for the long-term success of your tank.

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts