Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first attempt at a sump so I could use all the help I can get. :-? :-? :-?

I have two 75 gallon tanks that I want to run into one 29 gallon sump. I've read ALOT of posts but still have many questions.

What pump would work best for this application? Or should I get two pumps, one for each 75 gallon and put them both in sump?

If I do the pvc overflow do I keep it 3/4" in the tank then bump up to 1 1/2" after the Tee?

I would rather go to big on the return than to small but would really like to see some pics of your guys overflows installed to get a better understanding.

I think if you guys can help me with these small problems I can get the rest. The plumbing of pipe and drains and float switches and ball valves all makes sense to me I just can't get my mind to fully understand the pvc overflow. I like alot of flow in the tank and will be keeping one emperor 400 on each tank to move water and help with some filtering also.

·
Registered
424 Posts
wow, my 75 has a 30g sump my 110 has a 30 g fuge. the overflows are 1.5" on the 110 the 75 has a built in overflow.
are your tanks drilled?

btw my 75 has a 1200 gph pump my 110 has a 1500 gph pump..tho the real value is less and dependant on the plumbing.

·
Registered
10,006 Posts
A 29 gallon sounds a bit small for 2 75 gallon tanks. It'd need to hold all of the water that would drain down from each in the event of a power outage. Each tank would drain down to the top of it's overflow. It would also have to hold all of the water in the drain pipes. It can add up to quite a bit. To make a 29 work you'd have to run a bare minimum of water in the sump, just enough to cover the pump, and then you'd risk running the pump dry when water evaporated.