Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
im new too this kinda i had cichlids as a kid now i want babk in!! im looking to set up a 75 gallon tank with mbuna hap and peacoks am i going too small of a tank? i was thinkin maybe go all male and from what i understand if i put peacoks in with mbuna and hap the the peacok has to be ob peacok? am i on the right path at all lol. any help will be big help!!!

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
I'd pick either mbuna or haps/peacocks, then it will be easier to decide on a stock list.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I cant help you but people May look as there curious of the answer thats why i looked lol! Im new to this too and any info that i can find is real helpful :) Enjoy!

·
Registered
363 Posts
nwtwoTHEworld said:
im new too this kinda i had cichlids as a kid now i want babk in!! im looking to set up a 75 gallon tank with mbuna hap and peacoks am i going too small of a tank? i was thinkin maybe go all male and from what i understand if i put peacoks in with mbuna and hap the the peacok has to be ob peacok? am i on the right path at all lol. any help will be big help!!!
You can put any peacock in with mbuna. Some folks won't, but I tend to mix and match haps/peacocks/mbuna pretty freely, so long as the tank size and aggression levels work.

Do you have a particular favorite species? Are you trying to do a few breeding groups or all males? Start there and folks can help you fill in the gaps.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
Moku - Are you playing semantics with the word "can"? Because yes, you CAN put a Mel. chipokae/auratus in with a peacock, but you'll likely be audience to a severe beating.

Especially for someone starting from relative scratch, I'd avoid the all-male set up for now. It's a lot of trial and error, you need multiple tanks (or a very lenient LFS), and it requires tons of patience. Mbuna breeding groups = easier.

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
nwtwoTHEworld said: