Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently upgraded from a 40 gallon breeder to a 75 gallon. I don't think all of my males are getting along like I would want them to. There were some females in there but I did take them out and put them in the 40 and so now the only thing that's in the 75 is males. This is what I have n the 75:
Males
Aulonocara Peacock:
blue peacock x2
OB peacock
sunshine peacock
Yellow lab x2
Otopharynx Lithobates x2

They are all the same size, with the sulfur heads being slightly bigger. It seems as though the 2 blue peacocks fight with the OB the most!! Then that seems to get everyone riled up. I'm still new at this so all the help and as little criticism as possibly is appreciated. What do I need to change, add, delete?? I took about s 4 minute video of their behavior but don't want to bore anyone. But if you want to see it let me know and I will figure out how! Thank you and sorry for long post

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
james1983 said:
You need more fish and need to get rid of any duplicates. Try to end up with about 10-12 fish.
Plus one. I would also get rid of the OB peacock since it is part of the problem and has mbuna blood so they tend to be more aggressive.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
That makes sense about the OB.
I know you get this question a million times, and I've scrolled through trying to figure out what to get, but what suggestions do you all have to add? Thank you again for the help!

·
Super Moderator
40,520 Posts
What is the species of the blue peacock?

I'd add timid haps and peacocks and maybe more yellow labs...for those you can do multiples and females so 1m:4f will work.

You could also do 1m:4f Pseudotropheus Acei...also a mbuna but peaceful unlike the OB peacock.

For peacocks, you could add a rubescens for red...avoid the hybrid dragonblood and strawberry etc.

For haps Placidochromis electra is always good.

·
Registered