Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently I got an 80gallon y'all Cichlid tank from a family friend that had to move and couldn't take it with him. I'm new to Cichlid and don't really know much about taking care of them. First off I can't identify one of them. As for the others I have two blood Parrot cichlids, and one electric yellow. Attached below is the one I can't identify. Second is any recommendations on what to feed them,if they like sand or gravel and what type of lights they like? So far the tank is set up the way he gave it to me with a HOB filter, heater and air stones. It also has large gravel.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
1,853 Posts
Hi and Welcome to C-F!!!

The fish is a Lake Malawi Nimbochromis venustus.

Sand is a good choice for most fish and more natural looking than colored gravel and easier to maintain. Pool filter sand is a cheap option though you will be limited to tan or white depending on your location and it can usually be purchased at a pool supply store.

A good quality cichlid pellet such as New Life Spectrum (NLS), Northfin or similar brands should work well though you may need to buy a couple different pellet sizes to accommodate different mouth sizes of the fish.

A regular aquarium light fixture should be just fine, do you know which brand fixture you currently are using?

Post the dimensions of the tank if you can and the model filter if you know it.

Do you have any other aquariums at all? Just curious of your level of fish keeping and how familiar you are with maintaining a fish tank.

·
Registered
940 Posts