Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased and repaired a used 150 gallon reef tank. It measures 72*24*20. The entire backside of the tank is one massive filter that is the whole length of the backside of the tank. Water goes over the overflow into a series of small tank where you put filter pads, down a drip chute and then drips down over about 500 bio balls and then gets pumped back into the tank. My question is what size pump should I utilize to run this. It came with a 185 gph pump but that seems way too low. Im used to setting up tanks that have 6-10 times the water volume per hour. My daughters 45g is set up with a emperor 400. Should I up the pump size that Im using. Would this setup benefit from under gravel jets? I have no experience with this type of filtration and could really use some advise on how to proceed. I recently repaired some cracks on the back side of the tank that went well (DIY post a while back) and now I would like to get it up and going. Thanks in advance for your help. :thumb:

·
Banned
2,109 Posts
Can you post some pics?

·
Registered
4,998 Posts