Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I decided to QUIT keeping African cichlids because it is really hard to deal with their aggressiveness so i am planning to keep Bolivian Rams. I dont know if the bolivian ram is a central or south american cichlid so here are my questions:

Are Bolivian Rams Peaceful cichlids??? I mean they dont kill each other like african cichlids do?
Can i house bolivian rams in a 15 gallon tank? If yes how many? If not, what is the recommended tank size for them?
Can i put Golden severum?
What are their water parameters?
Type of set up recommended for them?
Can i put plants??? If yes, what are the lists of plants suited for these fish and can be put in a 15 gallon tank.
What kind of filter should i use?
Do they require still flowing water or turbulent waters like african cichlids?

Sorry guys for so many questions. I am really new in keeping american cichlids.

Oh by the way, what are the recommended tankmates for them that can be housed in a 15 gallon tank?
Thank you!!!

·
Registered
2,602 Posts
Bolivians are SA cichlids from the Guapore and Mamore drainage on the border of Brazil and Bolivia. Their scientific name is Microgeophagus altispinosa.

- Bolivians are peaceful cichlids but do have some character. They do best in small groups of 5 or more. When you keep a pair you take a small risk of losing the female. Occasionally males chase females when the male is ready to breed but the female isn't. It is rare but not impossible for the male to chase the female around and stress her so much she eventually dies. I never heard this when Bolivians are kept in small groups of 5 or more. Previous sounds aggressive but they realy aren't and lots of people will confirm. If Bolivians have eggs or youngsters they act like awesome parents and protect the fry. They don't hold back on chasing fish out of their spot that are 3 to 4 times their size. Their bloodcare is very interesting to watch.