Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. So I inherited a 6’ (125G) tank at work (I am a teacher). I’m in the process of getting it cleaned up and ready. I am looking to get something on the “slightly easier to maintain” side of things.

I’m leaning towards a heavily planted tank and am looking at some (not all) of the following:
-dwarf neon rainbow
-angels
-Steatocranus casuarius
-Steatocranus tinanti
- Anomolochromis thomasi
-Hemichromis exsul
-Microctenopoma ansorgii

I’m really open to any ideas someone In This situation would do though.

I have moderate fish keeping experience having kept mbuna for a few years, and oscars as well as easier species.

the tank has a sump (converted salt tank) and large water changes during the school year are no problem.

it’s funded out of pocket, so I’m not looking at any species that are excessively expensive

thanks for any advice/direction!

·
Premium Member
4,716 Posts
May want to re-think that stock-list. The Hemichromis you list gives me pause, esp. if you wind up with a spawning pair of them in the tank. And, the long pelvic fins of your Angels are gonna prove almost irresistible to some, or possibly all of those tougher species of Cichlids in there.
So, I would suggest going 'all -in' with a biotope tank for this, that more accurately reflects species originating from at least a general, geographic area. To do this, I would go either all New World or African Riverine for this tank.
As info, the New World (SA and CA) biotope, might be easier (and cheaper) to source out in fish species....

·
Registered
2,113 Posts
I’m leaning towards a heavily planted tank and am looking at some (not all) of the following:
-dwarf neon rainbow
-angels
-Steatocranus casuarius
-Steatocranus tinanti
- Anomolochromis thomasi
-Hemichromis exsul
-Microctenopoma ansorgii
All of these are decent options in a 125 gal. tank though not all of these are likely to mix that well.