Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am not new to having fish, not even this forum. I couldnt get my old account to sign in and my email address isnt valid anymore thats attached to it. Anyway...I decided to fire up my new 75g tank.

I plan on doing a mbuna tank with a few extras but I wanna start slow. Well, anyway. Can anyone please identify this fish please? I dont know my africans that well and I fear it's too young for me to know.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
I am new to Africans as well , I had similar fish identified as Metriaclima lombardoi... aka kenyi. Not to sure, like I said I'm new to them too. Good luck.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I suppose its possible but they had those sectioned off in a different tank...this was a dreaded "mixed" tank.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
Yep the fish I had identified were from a mixed tank that The gf got on impulse.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
/sigh...

What bothers me is they had a Kenyi tank...a separate one...why would they have them in the mixed one too.

·
Registered
625 Posts
I would just take it back. My lombardoi is currently residing in the sump waiting to return to the LFS because it does not play nice with others. It's easier to take back the sooner you have it and before its killed any other fish.

·
Registered
192 Posts
At what size did your Kenyi turn ugly? I have one which I believe is female, about 3 inches, not even a hint of yellow in her. But she is not aggressive like advertised. I'm afraid she's going to turn overnight and I'm going to come home to a tank where 1/2 the fish are dead and she's super aggressive all of a sudden.

·
Registered
625 Posts