Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a little nuts, so sorry if this thread wasn't what you thought :p

I have the itch to build a giant fish tank. I've had this itch ever since I set up my 125. I WANT BIGGER! 8)

Unfortunately, I can not have a bigger tank right now :(. I'm a renter. I'm lucky to be able to have the tank I do. I do not have the space for a bigger tank (ok, ok, maybe I could have a 6x2x2 but my wife wouldn't see the point and would kill me for getting ANOTHER fish tank :D ). I could put a monster tank in the basement we hardly use, but whats the point. Within the next couple years, we will move and buy a home... hopefully.

But I still have the itch. I'm OCD, I think. Once I start thinking about something, I can't get it out of my head unless something else more compelling comes along to be the focus of my brain.

So, being an engineer, I'm privy to some pretty cool 3D modeling software. I've decided in order to satisfy my itch, I will design AND build the tank... virtually. And I will post the pictures here of my progress for you guys to comment, advise, criticize, whatever - just as if I were really building an actual, physical tank.

This isn't an entirely pointless exercise. My wife has already given me the go-ahead to build a big "in-wall" aquarium in our currently hypothetical future home we will own. She said it would be cool - first time she said that in regards to my hobby :) So, this thread can be more acurately described as "Designing a Giant Fishtank for a future build", but since I'm currently in a bit of a narcicistic mood, I thought I'd get more page views with a clever-er title :p. The difference between this, and other design threads, is that the actual build will be at least 2-3 years away, and many other things have to fall in place first. So thats how long you (and I!) will be kept in suspense. My apologies... ( :lol: )