Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not the best photographer, and these guys are really camera shy. Bow front tanks are also not the easiest to photograph as I found out today. My Tang tank is a 92 gallon corner bow front with fluval 405 filter / sponge filter. I have the following fish in the tank:

4 Neo Brichardi (wish I could get some eggs)
2 Mustax Leleupi
4 Shell
4 Mystery fish (dealer promised they were tang, but I don't think so - see my blue friend)
2 Chinese algae eaters (probably a mistake as they are known for being aggressive when larger - we'll see)

Everyone gets along fairly well for now. Not sure if I should add any additional fish to the tank -would like suggestions. The last pic is my first tropical tank. Mainly stocked with tetra, platty, ottos, and danios. I wish I had the space to add more tanks, or have a fish room. These guys are awesome!

·
Registered
150 Posts
I'm no expert but I think that blue one is from Lake Malawi. The shell dweller looks like an N. Brevis. Nice tank by the way. Is that bottom pic a different tank?

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yep, the last pic is a different tank. My first tropical tank - the one that started it all. After enjoyed success with the first fish tank I decided to try something more challenging. So came the Tang tank - unfortunately there are very few people around here that know anything about these fish. All the pet stores only offer Malawi and "misc" cichlids. It is very difficult to find a true expert (or even someone who knows that Tangs are). Most of my info has come from books. I did find one place in Monroeville PA that has a broader selection of Tangs, and somewhat knowledgeable employees, however, it was too late - I already had mystery fish :)

Do you think more Tang species could be added or am I at my limit? If so, what do you suggest to give the tank its final touches? :fish:

·
Registered
258 Posts